Prix Suisse 2021

Switzerland’s highest national award

This unique award will be presented each year to a Swiss personality who has achieved remarkable things for our country both now and in the past through a combination of audacity, creativity, innovation, hard work and perseverance. They will act as role models for present and future generations.

The laureates of the ‘Prix Suisse’ are personalities who have made outstanding contributions to Switzerland in recent years and who stand out as a result of their audacity, innovation, and creativity.

Peter Spuhler

Entrepreneur, investor, doer

On Saturday, 13 November 2021, the ‘Prix Suisse“ was awarded for the first time to Peter Spuhler at a grand gala dinner in Bern’s Kursaal. The Prix Suisse is a new national award and represents the highest distinction for outstanding achievements in Switzerland.

It is a great honor to be the first winner of the ‘Prix Suisse’, but my success has only been possible thanks to a committed and innovative team. Switzerland has achieved an excellent reputation internationally through innovation, creativity, entrepreneurial spirit and the highest possible quality. We have enormous potential to continue to raise Switzerland’s profile as a unique country in the heart of Europe. I am proud to represent this image of Switzerland.

Peter Spuhler

Portrait of Peter Spuhler

On Saturday evening, President Guy Parmelin presented the first ever ‘Prix Suisse’ to entrepreneur Peter Spuhler in front of some 400 invited guests from the worlds of business, science, politics, and sport in Bern’s Kursaal. Peter Spuhler is a consummate entrepreneur, investor, and doer. Over some 30 years, the small business in Bussnang has grown into the internationally successful Stadler Rail Group with a turnover in the billions and 13,000 employees. Through a combination of audacity, a willingness to take risks and hard work, he has succeeded in building an innovative global group from Switzerland. He is a role model for both present and future generations.

The Prix Suisse

With a base made of an ancient larch tree, the Prix Suisse represents connectedness and sustainability. The tree lived for around 350 years and was trapped inside a glacier in the Engadin Alps for some 10,500 years before emerging from the ice in 2019. The upward lines end in a Swiss cross, which represents Swiss quality and reliability. The design of the award is not realizable using current metalworking techniques. It was made from aluminum using the 3D metal printing process, thus displaying Switzerland’s great innovative capacity and creativity.

The Prix Suisse 2022 will be awarded to an outstanding personality on 12 November 2022.

Highlights of the Night

2d4a378 (Montag, 15. November 2021, 11:28 Uhr) prix-suisse-2021 · Initiative Schweiz

Prix Suisse 2021

Höchste nationale Auszeichnung der Schweiz

Jährlich wird eine Schweizer Persönlichkeiten mit diesem einzigartigen Award ausgezeichnet, welche mit Mut, Kreativität, Innovation, harter Arbeit und Durchhaltewille Grossartiges für unser Land leistet und geleistet hat. Es sind Vorbilder für die heutigen und künftigen Generationen.

Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger des «Prix Suisse» sind Persönlichkeiten, die in den vergangenen Jahren herausragende Leistungen für die Schweiz erbracht haben und sich durch Mut, Innovation und Kreativität auszeichnen.

Peter Spuhler

Unternehmer, Investor, Macher

Am Samstag, 13. November 2021 wurde im Rahmen eines grossen Gala-Dinner im Kursaal Bern der «Prix Suisse» zum ersten Mal an den Peter Spuhler verliehen. Der Prix Suisse ist ein neuer nationaler Award. Die höchste Auszeichnung für herausragende Leistungen in der Schweiz.

Es ist mir eine grosse Ehre, erster Preisträger des «Prix Suisse» zu sein. Mein Erfolg ist jedoch nur dank einem engagierten und innovativen Team möglich. Die Schweiz hat sich mit Innovation, Kreativität, Unternehmergeist und höchster Qualität international einen hervorragenden Namen geschaffen. Wir haben grosses Potenzial, die Schweiz weiterhin als einzigartiges Land im Herzen Europas zu profillieren. Ich bin stolz, dieses Bild der Schweiz zu vertreten.

Peter Spuhler

Portrait Peter Spuhler

Bundespräsident Guy Parmelin hat am Samstagabend vor rund 400 geladenen Gästen aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Politik und Sport im Berner Kursaal erstmals den Prix Suisse an den Unternehmer Peter Spuhler überreicht. Peter Spuhler ist Vollblutunternehmer, Investor und ein Macher. In rund 30 Jahren ist der kleine Gewerbebetrieb in Bussnang zur international erfolgreichen Stadler Rail Group mit einem Milliardenumsatz und 13‘000 Arbeitsplätzen gewachsen. Mit Mut, Risikobereitschaft und harter Arbeit hat er es aus der Schweiz heraus geschafft, einen innovativen Weltkonzern aufzubauen. Er ist ein Vorbild für heutige und künftige Generationen.

Der Prix Suisse

Der Prix Suisse repräsentiert mit seinem Fundament aus einer alten Lärche die Bodenhaftigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit. Der Baum lebte rund 350 Jahre und war in einem Gletscher in den Engadiner-Alpen rund 10 500 Jahre eingeschlossen, bevor ihn das Eis im Jahr 2019 freigegeben hat. Die nach oben laufenden Linien enden in einem Schweizer Kreuz. Dies steht für Schweizer Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit. Die Form des Awards ist mit heutigen Möglichkeiten in der Metallverarbeitung nicht umsetzbar. Der Award wurde im 3D-Metalldruckverfahren aus Aluminium produziert. Dies manifestiert die grosse Innovationsfähigkeit und Kreativität der Schweiz.

Der Prix Suisse 2022 wird am 12. November 2022 an eine herausragende Persönlichkeit verliehen.

Die Highlights des Abends